Old Days, Young Memories…

Standard

Recently my batchmate had been to IIM Indore and brought a college t-shirt for me. We decided to wear it this weekend to the classes.

I have a habit – bad or good – not sure, but I alter  the t-shirts (minor to major) to fit me best. This time I got the length altered, and the altering reminded me of my NiFD days when I was a part of the weekends diploma fashion designing classes. 2004-2005…long time but memories are still fresh. Besides enjoying the program, I made lifetime friends at NiFD. Creativity, Healthy Competition, Long Chats with Faculty Members, Assignments, Portfolio Development…it was crazy but fun. And one of the tough assignments we had was to participate in Lame Fashion House—a fashion reality show telecasted on Star One in the year 2005.

All fashion designing institutes had received invitation to participate in this show. Our faculty then had asked all the students of the weekend batch to participate in this contest; our Internal Assessment scores were dependent on the design submitted in the contest.

We were left with no choice. And thus, the sketch as in the image, I had dropped in the Lakme Design Collection Box (which was placed at every fashion designing institutes and Lakme Salons). The design was made keeping in mind to create a fashionable garment from a simple Salwar Kameez dress material that is available at a very reasonable cost.

To my surprise, both my batchmate and I, were selected for the first round. The announcement was made in a very creative manner. Star One team comes to your house, shoots you asking on how and why you participated in the program and then during the shoot, you get a call which says – “Congratulations Asma! You are selected in the first round!” and your expression is captured in the camera. These clips were then edited and used during the telecast, and yes, I was on TV in the first episode, as my expression, for some reason, was not deleted by the Edit Team. 🙂

We were excited at the same time nervous. Now, we had one week for the second round – Mumbai Selection Round Fashion Show, where all the contestants were expected to get their garments ready as per the designs submitted. The next five days found us running around collecting all the pieces as in the design, and of course, guiding the tailor on how to get the garment construction right.

Finally, the day arrived and we were at the venue: Ramee Guestline Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai, only to find our faculty there; he was also one of the contestants (who was selected and was part of the show for three episodes). Now, our nervousness was obvious, conspicuous and knew no bounds. We had no clue who the judges were until we heard other contestants discussing – Abu Jani and Sandeep Khosla. It was too late to run from the venue as we had already entered the premises, otherwise that is exactly what was on our minds.

Well, somehow we sailed through that day. Both of us were confident that we won’t get selected; however since were already there, we decided to enjoy the experience of participating in a reality show; interacting with models; helping them with the fitting and right accessories; walking the ramp with them and presenting before The Well Known Designers: Abu Jani and Sandeep Khosla and the Guest Designer for the show – Anita Dongre.

Indeed, it was a learning experience and my first interaction with the real fashion world.

So every time I alter a T-shirt, I remember this day, and think about the day when as an established designer and brand, I will have my own fashion show.

Lakme Fashion House

…Ashu Bolar

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

