Vikramaditya Trilogy – Book 1: The Guardians of the Halahala

Standard

It was in April this year. I was on a short sabbatical from work for academic reasons, and since I was temporarily free from the grilling corporate atmosphere, I suddenly had a lot of time on my hands. So I decided to read as many novels as I can in these two months from my gigantic book collection. Yeah, I collect books, and someday, I guess will have a library of my own. 🙂

I decided to start with The Guardians of Halahala – a book which I received from the author Shatrujeet Nath on winning a promotional contest on Facebook. My friend, Dia, was the one who had enrolled my name in the contest, but I thank her that she did because the book is an interesting read. Since I am a Vikramaditya-Betal fan, I enjoyed every chapter of the first veergatha in series from the trilogy.

The plot is extremely gripping. I thought it would take me at least a week to complete the book, but I completed it in three days as there was this constant curiosity to know what happens next. Some pages on the fight for protecting the state, did remind me of the Trojan War, I studied during my MA literature days.

In several scenes, when Samrat Vikramaditya is having discussion with his council of Nine Members, it reminded and related me with how in the corporate world a boss and reporting managers should interact with each other. In the book, all the council members including the King, respect each one’s thoughts and considers other’s opinions. There is equal chance for a man or a woman to be a Councillor. There no discrimination of any sought during discussions or in allocating responsibilities. There is a learning here for many bosses, who are prone to tell their colleagues, rather than ask or discuss.

My favourite sentences/phrases from the book:

“It is in the nature of the bloodied sword to doubt the strength of the untested metal.”

“The council trusts you to do what is right – not what is convenient.” (I so wish the corporate world people understood this!)

“Pride and incompetence – what more harm need anyone inflict on his fellow beings, my king?” (Once again, this reminded me of many ignorant yet arrogant acquaintances.)

“…their expressions ranging from fatigue to relief to triumph.”

“…things were always deceptive when viewed from a distance.” (Yep, they are. And we still get carried away at times and get judgmental.)

“…rumor flies on a hundred wings.” (Oh yes, it does!)

“We shouldn’t let worry and fear impair our judgment.” (Never Ever!)

“…the metal winking wickedly…” (I like the personification used here.)

“…before the phrase could anchor itself in his mind…” (That’s how most of the time we react and then regret.)

“Everything I see and hear and say and do…”

Well, since I have read The Guardians of the Halahala, I was eager to know what eventually happened to Vikramaditya, his nine councilors, to the kingdom, the devas & asuras, and the Halahala. I did try convincing Shatruji if in some way I can know ‘what next’, but well the answer was to read the next book –  The Conspiracy At Meru.

The good news is Book-2 will be available for purchase on Amazon.com soon (Release Date: 22nd August 2016; Pre Order option open).

I am hoping Betal will have a significant role in the coming issues! 🙂

Thank you Dia, and Thank you Shatruji for the copy!

VA-1&2

Check the trailer for ‘The Conspiracy at Meru’ (Vikramaditya Veergatha #2) by Shatrujeet Nath at Thunderclap or click: https://www.thunderclap.it/projects/45165-the-conspiracy-at-meru

Happy Monsoon! Happy Reading!

…Ashu Bolar

Leave a Reply

